Back Button Hatha Yoga

Yama: Hatha Yoga

Yama, the first limb of Hatha Yoga, is a practice of five restraints. There are five popular restraints in yama. They are ahimsa, sathya, asthyeya, brahmacharya and aparigraha.

28 lessons
  1. Section 1 Introduction

    1. The five limbs of Hatha Yoga are yama, niyama, asana, pranayama and prathyahara.

  2. Section 2 Ahimsa

    1. Ahimsa means non-violence. That is, when you want to practice ahimsa, you should not injure others.

    2. The followers of Sanatana Dharma try to perform as many rituals as possible, according to their capacity.

    3. In this story, you can understand how one hurts others with words and one becomes angry and hurts others.

    4. Anger does not make a man wise but definitely makes him mad. It causes the destruction of all that man earns and obtains by hard work.

  3. Section 3 Sathya

    1. The second restraint in yama is Sathya, the truth.

    2. King Yudhishtira was known for his righteousness. He knew a number of secrets about dharma.

    3. Let us analyse the situation where King Yudhishtira had told the full truth but was made to be a half-truth.

    4. If you want to practise the restraint sathya you should master it by Hatha Yoga.

  4. Section 4 Asthyeya

    1. The third restraint in yama is astheya.

    2. The child takes away or lifts with an inborn curiosity to know about the object.

    3. If the adult lifts anything even that lifting is nothing but stealing.

    4. Poverty is caused more by the people of vested interests than any other factors or reasons. Stealing of the individual is circumstantial in nature and not intentional.

    5. Hatha Yoga removes this weakness and helps the individual stop stealing.

  5. Section 5 Brahmacharya

    1. The quality and status of the life of the individual is completely based on the level of the practice of brahmacharya.

    2. Practice of brahmacharya helps to become a ‘jitendriya’, the one who has conquered the senses.

    3. Brahmacharya is a life state where the individual spends his whole life practising to reach the goal. Brahmacharya is a life of celibacy.

    4. Every object that exists in this universe is from this Brahman, the Absolute.

    5. The society is a family of the individual which is commonly termed as samsara.

    6. Let us try to understand the subtle meaning of the words marriage, celibacy, chastity etc.

    7. The individual should try to understand the need and purpose of those desires which help, modify, and improve him to lead a better life.

    8. The object of one sense has the capacity of stimulating one or more senses and making them active.

    9. The meaning of celibacy is a condition of being unmarried or being sexually chaste.

    10. The three kinds of desires are material desire, mental desire and potential desire.

    11. Yoga to become jitendriya, a person who has conquered the senses and who has fixed his mind on the Absolute.

  6. Section 6 Aparigraha

    1. The fifth restraint in yama is aparigraha.

    2. The tradition or custom says to take a useful thing or money with him when he goes to meet the guru and offer that to the guru.

    3. Everyone has one’s own idea, value and intention while offering a gift.